Main Menu

Explore More


Fridley Public Schools

Congratulations to the Fridley High School (FHS) cast, crew and orchestra of this spring’s musical production, All Shook Up, which earned numerous Outstanding Overall and Individual Hennepin Theatre Trust Spotlight Education awards!

To earn Spotlight Education awards, evaluators attend participating schools’ musical theatre productions to critique performances in several categories: movement, vocal, and acting technique for ensemble; execution of the technical aspects of the production; and individual performances.  

“The Spotlight awards are the pinnacle of recognition for high school musical theater in the State of Minnesota,” said Auditorium and Events Coordinator Dan Wold. “The All Shook Up cast and crew created a magical performance in spite of a challenging year, and we are proud of our students for earning this well-deserved recognition.”

Fridley High School’s production of “All Shook Up” earner the following Spotlight Education Awards:


Overall Production; Student Orchestra; Run Crew; Overall Technical Team; Light & Sound Crew

Honorable Mention

Achievement in Musical Theatre; Overall Performance; Ensemble Performance; Vocal Performance;  Costume Crew

Individual Honors

Outstanding Performance in Leading Role:  Lulu Schirmacher as Natalie

Outstanding in Technical Leadership:  Cohen Kappenman,  Deck Captain

Honorable Mention in Supporting Role: Tyler Herder as Dennis; Helen Riddle as Lorraine; Cassady Callahan as Sandra; and Ryken Farr as Jim

Honorable Mention in Technical Leadership:  Ethan Andler, Board Operator

Evaluator Shout-out: Tim Yocum

Students who received Outstanding and Honorable Mention recognitions are eligible to participate in group numbers that will be video recorded for a broadcast Spotlight Showcase.  The showcase recognizes extraordinary achievements, hard work and talents of students and educators in high school theater across Minnesota. The Spotlight Showcase 2021, titled Spotlight Belongs to Us, will be streamed on Tuesday, June 15 at 7 PM.

Congratulations All Shook Up cast and crew members!

View story in browser