Main Menu

Explore More

Portals

Fridley Public Schools

Health Services

Our Health Service is available to enhance and support the educational process by modifying, treating, and removing health related barriers that affect the student's learning. Our goal is to develop and maintain each student's optimal health, thereby increasing their learning potential.

Health Services provides care that promotes students' academic success by:

  • Managing chronic health care conditions.
  • Providing interventions that return students to class.
  • Intervening to lessen the number of students sent home.
  • Identifying health related barriers and referring for appropriate care.
  • Providing health screenings such as hearing and vision.
  • Promoting a safe and healthy school environment.
  • Encouraging independence in managing own health care.
  • Promoting student and staff wellness.

Your child should stay home if: 

  • Fever 100 degrees Fahrenheit or more. Remain home until fever free 24 hours without medication. 
  • Persistent cough.
  • Open/draining sores which are unable to be covered.
  • Vomiting/Diarrhea --Return to school 24 hours after last episode. 
  • Rash of unknown cause → check with family physician before sending to school. 
  • Eyes are red and crusted with drainage. Prefer to start see physician before returning to school. 
  • Head lice are detected. Prefer treatment to be started before returning to school.

If you keep your child home, please call the attendance line daily to report the reason for absence. 

Information and Resources

Health Services Staff  

District Nurse
Cassandra Byrne, RN, MSN, PHN, LSN
Phone: 763-502-5627
Cassandra.Byrne@fridley.k12.mn.us

District Nurse
Callie Bachler, RN, BSN, PHN, LSN
Phone: 763-502-5044
Callie.Bachler@fridley.k12.mn.us

District Nurse
Pam Johnson, LPN
Phone: 763-502-5034
Pam.Johnson@fridley.k12.mn.us

Fridley High School       
Jeanette Grant, Health Assistant 
Phone: 763-502-5626                          Fax: 763-502-5043                                Jeanette.Grant@fridley.k12.mn.us   

Fridley Middle School
Celine Smith, Health Assistant
Phone: 763-502-5426                
Fax: 763-502-5441
Celine.Smith@fridley.k12.mn.us

Hayes Elementary     
Sheila Johnson, Health Assistant      
Phone: 763-502-5226                            Fax: 763-502-5240                               Sheila.Johnson@fridley.k12.mn.us 

R.L.Stevenson Elementary 
Phone: 763-502-5326
Fax: 763-502-5340        
Pam.Johnson@fridley.k12.mn.us
Cassandra.Byrne@fridley.k12.mn.us
Callie.Bachler@fridley.k12.mn.us

Community Education Center
Char Kroger, Health Assistant
Phone: 763-502-5114
Fax: 763-502-5140
Charmaine.Kroger@fridley.k12.mn.us